What happens if you are arrested for DWI? - Tessmer Law Firm
591
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-591,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode-theme-ver-13.9,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.4.1,vc_responsive,elementor-default,elementor-kit-16561

What happens if you are arrested for DWI?

DWI Fact #5: What will happen after you are arrested for DWI?

 

Generally speaking, following an arrest for DWI in Texas, you will be taken first to the police station or county jail. Once at the station or jail, you will be asked to submit to a breath test.  Or, if you have refused the breathalyzer, a warrant will be obtained to draw your blood.

 

Keep in mind, you are already under arrest and you are not going home if you take the breath test and pass. You will still be charged with driving while intoxicated by not having the normal use of your physical or mental faculties. Whether you take a breath test or not, you are then booked into the jail or transported from the station to the jail. Once you are booked and in a holding cell, you will be allowed to make collect telephone calls.

 

Within about twelve hours, your bond will be set according to a schedule used by the judges. The bond amounts in DWI generally range from $1,000.00 to $2,500.00. Your first court setting will generally be three to seven days after your arrest.

 

More resources:  Texas DWI: Refusal to Take a Blood or Breath Test