Blog | Helpful Tessmer Tips | Tessmer Law Firm
15350
paged,page-template,page-template-blog-compound,page-template-blog-compound-php,page,page-id-15350,paged-18,page-paged-18,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode-theme-ver-13.9,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.7,vc_responsive
Tessmer Tips / 18.12.2015

DWI Fact #10: Summing it all up.   DWI is expensive, not only to you, if convicted, but to the taxpayers.  Drunk driving costs the U.S. approximately $132 billion a year (MADD).  Including costs for medical treatment, work loss, public services, court fees and loss of quality of life, drunk driving deaths and injuries have cost Texans well over $50 billion since 2006 (Pacific Institute for Research).  The statistics get even more frightening:  the average drunk driver has driven drunk 80 times before first arrest and approximately 1/3 of all drivers arrested or convicted of DWI are repeat offenders (MADD).   Don’t be...

Tessmer Tips / 17.12.2015

DWI Fact #9: What happens to your insurance?   The amount you pay for car insurance depends, in part, on what your insurer deems your risk of being in an accident.  A DWI conviction indicates you are a high risk and you can expect your premiums to rise.  The State may request that you file a proof of financial responsibility form, otherwise known as an SR-22, before reinstating your driving privileges. Your auto insurer will file this on your behalf, for a fee.   More resources:  TxDPS - SR-22 Certificate...

Tessmer Tips / 16.12.2015

DWI Fact #8:  What are the penalties for DWI?   The penalties for DWI vary according to the number of offenses and the circumstances of your situation.  For example, a first offender may be ordered to pay up to a $2,000 fine, serve jail time from 3 to 180 days and have their license suspended for up to 2 years.   The fines and jail time increase with the number of offenses.  You may also have to pay an annual surcharge to the State in order to keep your license.  If you are found guilty of Intoxication Assault or Intoxication Manslaughter, you will be...

Tessmer Tips / 15.12.2015

DWI Fact #7:  Can I still drive?   To preserve your right to drive in Texas, you must request a hearing within 15 days of the date you were served with a Notice of Suspension. In most cases, this is the day of your arrest. If you timely requested a hearing to contest your license suspension, you will be able to continue to drive unless an Administrative Law Judge rules against you and authorizes the Department of Public Safety (DPS) to suspend your driver’s license.   If you lose at the hearing, your driver’s license will be suspended and you cannot drive unless you...

Tessmer Tips / 14.12.2015

DWI Fact #6: What can you expect at court?   The initial court appearance is called an arraignment. At the arraignment, the judge may advise you of the charges and of certain rights that you have because you have been charged with a crime. Your lawyer may get an opportunity to look at the State’s file and at the police offense report to determine what the police claim that you did.   It is very important that you not wait for the first court appearance to seek legal advice and to hire a lawyer. Valuable rights and evidence that will affect the ability to...

Tessmer Tips / 11.12.2015

DWI Fact #5: What will happen after you are arrested for DWI?   Generally speaking, following an arrest for DWI in Texas, you will be taken first to the police station or county jail. Once at the station or jail, you will be asked to submit to a breath test.  Or, if you have refused the breathalyzer, a warrant will be obtained to draw your blood.   Keep in mind, you are already under arrest and you are not going home if you take the breath test and pass. You will still be charged with driving while intoxicated by not having the normal use...